#81 DragonSpeed USA ORECA LMP2 07, LMP2: Ben Hanley, Henrik Hedman, Colin Braun, Harrison Newey, #18 Era Motorsport ORECA LMP2 07, LMP2: Kyle Tilley, Dwight Merriman, Ryan Lewis, Nic Minassian

LMP2 Teams Name Drivers for 2021 Rolex 24 At Daytona

By Mark Robinson

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. –The Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2) field for the 2021 Rolex 24 At Daytona has been bolstered by a pair of driver announcements involving DragonSpeed, the two-time defending Rolex 24 class champion, and Era Motorsport, which made a successful LMP2 debut this year in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Eric Lux是2005年16岁的劳力士24岁的劳珀最年轻的终身历史,已被称为1月比赛的龙牌入境的司机之一。Lux,2011年美国Le Mans系列PC冠军,有六个职业IMSA获胜,其中包括2019年的两个LMP2竞争与PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports。现在32,勒克斯渴望加入埃尔顿朱利安经营的龙龙队。

"2021 marks my 18th season competing in sports cars and my 11th Rolex 24," Lux said. "I’ve nearly won there on several occasions, and for it to become a reality you need the right team, the right car and the right teammates. I’ve known Elton as a teammate, team owner and friend over the past 10 years and watched the team’s combination of pace and strategy win the Rolex 24 last year. I have complete confidence in Elton and his crew to put together the strongest program out there."

The remaining drivers for the DragonSpeed entry will be named later to join Lux, now a Bronze-rated driver, in a new ORECA 07 LMP2.

"Eric’s reclassification as a Bronze gives us one of the best in the category," said Julian. "We’re really looking forward to supporting Eric’s bid for his first win at Daytona and looking to bring a group of drivers to the package that can help deliver on that. We’ll have the same crew that was behind our success the last two years at Daytona, so we’re excited to see if we can make it three in a row."

Era Motorsport, meanwhile, will look to improve upon its third-place LMP2 2020 finish at the Rolex 24 with team owner Kyle Tilley and Dwight Merriman returning to drive the No. 18 ORECA, joined by team newcomers Ryan Dalziel and Paul-Loup Chatin.

除了第三名的显示与有限公司-drivers Ryan Lewis and Nic Minassian at the Rolex 24, Tilley and Merriman logged three more podium finishes in the team’s rookie WeatherTech Championship season to wind up fifth in the LMP2 point standings.

"I’m delighted we get another crack at the Rolex 24 At Daytona," said Tilley. "Era Motorsport are going all out to win the LMP2 class. Collectively, the team has learned a lot since last January, and I think we have a strong shot at it. Ryan Dalziel and Paul-Loup Chatin are both drivers that I know well and trust to get the job done. They’re great additions to our team."

Dalziel has nine career IMSA wins, including the overall victory at the Rolex 24 in 2010. He drove in a pair of LMP2 races this year for Tower Motorsport by Starworks.

"I’m absolutely ecstatic about joining Era Motorsport," Dalziel said. "I was really impressed watching their first IMSA season in 2020. I can tell, between Kyle and Dwight, they are putting everything into making this program as strong as possible, and I’m humbled to have been invited to be part of this journey. My last few seasons in IMSA haven’t gone to plan, so I’m extremely grateful to these guys for having the confidence in me to help guide this ship with them."

在欧洲勒芒系列中有两项冠军,在过去的三个24小时里驾驶了一个Oreca的Le Mans Sraces,今年举办了ideC运动,蒂尔利和梅里曼的团队加入了法国耐力活动。

"I am really happy to join Era for the iconic Rolex 24 At Daytona," said Chatin. "I was lucky to meet and work with Kyle and Dwight at the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans, and I am sure that all together we will be able to fight for the top in LMP2 class. I am really excited to participate in my first IMSA race, and I will do my best to honor the faith they put in me."

The 2021 WeatherTech Championship season begins Jan. 22-24 with The Roar Before the Rolex 24 test in preparation for the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 30-31.